My Dreams and Visions

Dreams and Visions

Church Begins At Home

Any who have followed my blog you would know that I have stated that church is not a building you go to on Sunday morning. In fact, the word states that the Lord does not dwell in buildings made by human hands.

However, the Most High does not dwell in houses and temples made with hands; as the prophet says,
Heaven [is] My throne, and earth the footstool for My feet. What [kind of] house can you build for Me, says the Lord, or what is the place in which I can rest?
Was it not My hand that made all these things

With that said, I would like to relate a dream that I had 11/20/15 where I was with my family. My son is a single father of 3 so my wife and I help quite a bit with the raising of the children. Now back to the dream. In the dream we were putting together what I will call a 3 D puzzle. I this because of the fact that each of these puzzle pieces were meant to stand vertically. What we were building was a model of a church. It is not the church building that has any significance here but instead it was the fact that it took each one of us putting our piece of the puzzle together in order to form the church. We, and not a building made by human hands, are the church. It is interesting to note that it took all of us to complete the building. No wall was able to stand on its own. It took the support of the other walls, each held by one of the family, to make them stand.

You are built upon the foundation of the apostles and prophets with Christ Jesus Himself the chief Cornerstone.
In Him the whole structure is joined (bound, welded) together harmoniously, and it continues to rise (grow, increase) into a holy temple in the Lord [a sanctuary dedicated, consecrated, and sacred to the presence of the Lord].
In Him [and in fellowship with one another] you yourselves also are being built up [into this structure] with the rest, to form a fixed abode (dwelling place) of God in (by, through) the Spirit.

Church begins in the home. How does anybody expect a child to be Christ-like when he does not see it at home. Parents andย  sometimes Grandparents, as it is in my case, have more time with children than a once a week Sunday school teacher does and therefore have more influence over their development. Do as I say not as I do does not cut it with a child. Behavior is modeled and unfortunately/fortunately copied by the children.

 

Single Post Navigation

13 thoughts on “Church Begins At Home

  1. Amen, A humbling reminder! Blessings to you and your family.

  2. I have been reading your posts and gotten some good “food” from your sharing. This one speaks to me so loudly. I have been reflecting and punishing myself for my grievances recently, and trying to force God to tell me what I need. Instead of waiting on Him to show me, I went off on a side trip to a religious point of view again. During this inner turmoil, my 6 children got more and more restless and neglected. God rapidly made progress with me when I stopped and listened to Him instead of looking to others to tell me what He’s saying. Your words are a confirmation of what I finally began to hear. Thank you for letting God speak through you. ๐Ÿ™‚
    ~Sara~

    • Sara I am blessed to know you and your family were blessed by the dream I had.

    • That was truly a profound revelation Sara. You should pray about starting a fellowship in your home.

      • It didn’t seem profound when I wrote it, in fact I just wanted to express my gratitude. ๐Ÿ™‚ However, you saying I should try to gather a fellowship hit home too with things that have been said and needed with those around me. More confirmation that I am appropriately listening. Thank you once again! And I will look into gathering others who want to share who are in my circle. ๐Ÿ™‚
        ~Sara~

      • I will be praying for you on this

  3. Great message and great dream. Many times over the years, I encountered those who felt they just don’t fit in and that was perspective was reinforced when they were rejected by other of those who attended the same church. I’ve led one particular group of outcasts/rejects. Every person in this group were not accepted in the geographical group they were supposed to be in. God’s instruction to me was to love them each unconditionally. This I did and I found a common denominator among them all. They were living by rejection and not by faith as their rejection confirmed to them that they must not be “Body of Christ’ material. Yet, each person who comes to Christ is to grow up into Him and ‘become’ sons and daughters of God. It is a process and sometimes this process is painful. This is why we need one another. We are each called to ‘bear one another’s burdens’ and so fulfill the ‘law of God’ through Christ.

    The other reason we do not see this happening as it should in the church is because we do not recognize and allow the ‘full’ complement of God’s ‘gift ministries’ to the church. I am speaking primarily of ‘apostles’ and ‘prophets’. Oh, there are those who give themselves these titles and want you to address them as such but these do not belong to Christ. The ‘true’ apostles and prophets will no seek the adulation of men but prefer to remain ‘invisible’ through the eyes of mankind but ‘visible’ in the kingdom of God. Until the Body of Christ recognizes this, it will be impossible for the full expression of these gift ministries to realize the fruit of their labor which is to bring the Body of Christ to that point in maturity where each will realize and walk in their part where each provides that portion God has given to them to benefit the whole.

  4. Advanced Research Technology on said:

    When one studies the church in Acts, one realizes that the home was the original church structure, before the Roman structure of congregating took over.
    As the body of Christ, we hold the temple within ourselves.
    The Holy Spirit does not dwell in buildings. It dwells in us. Fellowship increases and amplifies the gift, but only to the degree that we have active participation in sharing the gift.
    The home churches in Acts met and prayed together in small groups. They shared what the Lord was doing in their lives. In this atmosphere one edified the other in simple close community. Prophecies, healing, miracles and the like were the norm.
    God can’t use a minister in us. God can only use the Holy Spirit in us. This is the Spirit of Christ. The form of our worship must allow Christ to be active. In order to do this, we must be active, anywhere, anytime and then pass the Spirit along by personally sharing it.

  5. jacqui on said:

    Thanks for sharing this Tony, what came to mind was the account of Nehemiah where everyone were called to build the walls. I can remember once saying to God as I was refused membership of my local church, ‘I’m not accepted into this church’ and he said ‘You belong to My Church’. That’s when I began to see a different church, this was many years ago.

Leave a Reply

Amazing Tangled Grace

A blog about my spiritual journey in the Lord Jesus Christ.

Kenzelsfire

Dreams, Visions, Life Observations

PoffPublishing

An Attempt to Balance Opinions, Truth, Art and A Realm of Make-Believe.

The Blogging Musician

People, places, guitar, songwriting, music production and a new found passion for writing about them.

Heaven Culture

Heaven Culture

The Elevation blog

John3:30-He must increase but I must decrease. Join in elevating Jesus!

Gods Dreamer

Dreams and visions

Talisha L. Walton

Stay connected with the author of, "The Writeous Series." Subscribe to her personal blog and new updates.

The Kingdom

Here Be Dragons, Here Be Dreams

Emmanuel Stephen

Official Single Release 10th Of July.......

Everyday With Jesus

365 Days with Our Lord Jesus Christ

Greater Things

I can guarantee this truth: Those who believe in me will do the things that I am doing. They will do even greater things...! Jesus, John 14:11-13

Seeking JESUS First

Following CHRIST

Leadership2Mommyship

Exploring life through a leadership and mothership lens.

Richard's Watch

Looking for the signs of Jesus' return

Obadiah's Cave

A place of safety

