My Dreams and Visions

Dreams and Visions

The King’s Banquet

When one of those at the table with him heard this, he said to Jesus, “Blessed is the one who will eat at the feast in the kingdom of God.” Jesus replied: “A certain man was preparing a great banquet and invited many guests. At the time of the banquet he sent his servant to tell those who had been invited, ‘Come, for everything is now ready.’ “But they all alike began to make excuses. The first said, ‘I have just bought a field, and I must go and see it. Please excuse me.’ “Another said, ‘I have just bought five yoke of oxen, and I’m on my way to try them out. Please excuse me.’ “Still another said, ‘I just got married, so I can’t come.’ “The servant came back and reported this to his master. Then the owner of the house became angry and ordered his servant, ‘Go out quickly into the streets and alleys of the town and bring in the poor, the crippled, the blind and the lame.’ “‘Sir,’ the servant said, ‘what you ordered has been done, but there is still room.’ “Then the master told his servant, ‘Go out to the roads and country lanes and compel them to come in, so that my house will be full. I tell you, not one of those who were invited will get a taste of my banquet.'”
(Luke 14:15-24)

I have been thinking about this for a few days now. So what exactly was the food served at this banquet? I can’t see anybody in the natural refusing free food. I believe it is explained in Jesus’ discourse with His disciples after He had spoken with the woman at the well.

Meanwhile his disciples urged him, “Rabbi, eat something.” But he said to them, “I have food to eat that you know nothing about.” Then his disciples said to each other, “Could someone have brought him food?” “My food,” said Jesus, “is to do the will of him who sent me and to finish his work.
(John 4:31-34)

So if the “food” being served at this banquet is the will of God then it stands to reason why so many begged to be excused from the “banquet” because to accept the invitation to this banquet meant to be willing to sacrifice. Look at the list of excuses that was given and you’ll see that they’re not much different from the ones used today.

But they all alike began to make excuses. The first said, ‘I have just bought a field, and I must go and see it. Please excuse me.’ “Another said, ‘I have just bought five yoke of oxen, and I’m on my way to try them out. Please excuse me.’ “Still another said, ‘I just got married, so I can’t come.’

How many of us know that we have a calling on our life but have made excuses as to why we cannot come to the banquet.

The church has become a place of comfort instead of a place of sacrifice. Picking up the cross and following Jesus is not taught anymore. The cross is seen to be offensive and would be a deterrent to bringing people into our mega church. Yet Jesus said that if you weren’t willing to pick up your cross and follow him on a daily basis then you couldn’t be His disciple. Jesus is not looking for converts, He is looking for disciples. To follow the great commission which is to “make disciples”, we must be willing to sacrifice our time and energy in order to invest in the person(s) we are discipling. I am preaching to myself here. Christianity is a contact sport, if you will, and it cannot be accomplished from the stands but has to be played out on the field of life.

Single Post Navigation

17 thoughts on “The King’s Banquet

  1. Amen to that! the church is rather apathetic these days. And as you said, a place of comfort instead of sacrifice! So true!

  2. Marsha Barnes on said:

    Hi Tony,

    The ones making excuses were the Jews, so the Lord went to the gentiles instead. The Lord said that not one of the excusers would set at His table in Heaven. This is a picture of the Jews and Gentiles or all those not Jews that believe in Jesus Christ.

    Sincerely, Marsha

  3. Carlo D on said:

    Tony,
    I have been reading your messages since the day I set up the auto-receipt of your blog. I have not commented since, but I now feel lead to respond. Though your dreams and visions are as numerous as they are of a particular theme, I find them to be accurate and timely with regards to scripture and what God is doing during these end times. Thank you for your diligence and obedience to what our Lord has placed upon you. We continue to pray in this regard.

    Carlo

    • Carlo, it is so good to hear from you. I hope all is well with you and your family. I am honored to have yoy following my blog and am glad that you are being blessed by what God is showing me.

  4. optimisticgladness on said:

    Yes! It is like we serve the same God!? 🙂 I absolutely love your last sentence. Appreciate your passion and dedication to His kingdom. Inspiring.

  5. Jesus is the Bread of Life. When we obey the Lord, take up our cross and follow Him, the life of Christ within us feed those that come in contact with us.

    “Broken Bread and Poured-out Wine”
    http://hitchhikeamerica.wordpress.com/2012/09/02/broken-bread-and-poured-out-wine/

      • Carlo DiPilato on said:

        Attention Walmart shoppers. Tony Puccio now half priced, in isle seven. No coupon required. All sales final. Offer void where prohibited by law. Not valid with any other offer.

        Carlo

        >

      • Haha Carlo. Maybe this was a test to see if you are still following my blog. Although the dream was very real.

      • Carlo DiPilato on said:

        Yes, Tony, I do believe that the dream has a strong basis in what can and may actually occur as we move deeper into the end times. I just could not help myself in responding with a humorous twist. Maybe my response was a test to see if you still have your funny bone attached in the right places. Nothing but love. . .

        Carlo

      • It is good to see you laughing again. Deb and I have been praying for you guys.

  6. Reblogged this on Walking in Faith and commented:
    What is the food at the banquet?

  7. excellent Marty; and the church is exactly as you wrote.

Leave a Reply

The Blogging Musician

People, places, guitar, songwriting, music production and a new found passion for writing about them.

Heaven Culture

Heaven Culture

Windows From Heaven - Author/Photographer Matthew C Seufer 2017

Acts 2:17 "In the last days.God says,I will pour my spirit out on all people"

The Elevation blog

John3:30-He must increase but I must decrease. Join in elevating Jesus!

Gods Dreamer

Dreams and visions

Talisha L. Walton

Stay connected with the author of "The Writeous Series." Check out her blog, journals, and new book releases.

The Kingdom

Here Be Dragons, Here Be Dreams

Emmanuel Stephen

JUST WORSHIP

Look to God

God, awakening, jesus, church, love, spiritual, light,prayer,holyspirit,angels,heaven,satan,deception,freedom,redemption

LANA VAWSER

Dreams and Visions

Everyday With Jesus

365 Days with Our Lord Jesus Christ

Greater Things

I can guarantee this truth: Those who believe in me will do the things that I am doing. They will do even greater things...! Jesus, John 14:11-13

Seeking JESUS First

Following CHRIST

Leadership2Mommyship

Exploring life through a leadership and mothership lens.

KANSAS EXPLOSION

Experiencing Spiritual Awakening

Richard's Watch

Looking for the signs of Jesus' return

Obadiah's Cave

A place of safety

beatriszblog

not another teen story

