My Dreams and Visions

Dreams and Visions

Judging

I had the following dream last year and what it initially spoke to me then was that this was about walking by faith and not trusting what I see because in this dream I had no ability to see as my vision apparently had been taken away from me. I am re-posting it here because of a post I read last night where judgement was being passed on an individual. It seems that we humans are wired to judge by what we see and hear. This individual claimed to be a Christian
but his actions seemed to say otherwise. Again, we judge by what we see. Only God alone sees the heart. Now, no doubt the first thing that comes to mind after reading this is what Jesus said when he told His disciples, “you shall know them by their fruits”. Again, a visible observation. But by whose eyes are we looking through? Now, let’s take a look at the Gospel of John and see what he had to say about Jesus.

“This is He on behalf of whom I said, ‘After me comes a Man who has a higher rank than I, for He existed before me.’ “I did not recognize Him, but so that He might be manifested to Israel, I came baptizing in water.” John testified saying, “I have seen the Spirit descending as a dove out of heaven, and He remained upon Him. “I did not recognize Him, but He who sent me to baptize in water said to me, ‘He upon whom you see the Spirit descending and remaining upon Him, this is the One who baptizes in the Holy Spirit.’ “I myself have seen, and have testified that this is the Son of God.” (Joh 1:30-34)

How did John know that Jesus was the Son of God? By the Holy Spirit giving him revelation. Notice that John says twice that he did not recognize Him.
John was a prophet, in fact Jesus said that no greater prophet existed than John and yet he had no idea who the Christ was until the Lord opened his eyes. Up until that point Jesus was just another person coming to be baptized.

Getting back to my dream. I said that my eyes were bandaged which leads me to believe that they were either damaged and needed bandaged or they were removed altogether. I was not given revelation here as to which was the case. With that said, read the vision.

I had a dream on August 12, 2011. In this dream I could see myself walking along a rocky path; one that would be easy to trip and fall on if you didn’t watch where you were going. In this dream my eyes were also bandaged so couldn’t see where I was going. The Lord was standing in front of me and He was holding both of my hands. I had to listen to the Lord for each step I took so that I wouldn’t fall. What was cool was that as I was walking forwards, the Lord was waking backwards and yet He never turned around to see where He was going, His attention was set on directing my steps so that I wouldn’t stumble or fall. What I see as the meaning of this dream is that this is the beginning of a faith walk that will rewrite require a hearing ear and an obedient heart.

Here are some things that the Lord is showing me. My eyes in the dream were bandaged which leads me to believe that my eyesight was damaged. We humans judge by sight and not as the Lord judges which is by the heart. When you are blind, you can not judge by what you see but must rely on the one with the sight to tell you what He (Jesus) sees. I said in the dream that I had lost my eyesight in exchange for His. When you are blind, hearing becomes vital to your survival. In the above dream, I was on a very rocky road and had to Listen to the Lord to know where to place my feet. It is a hard thing when your eyes tell you one thing but the Lord’s tell you something completely different, hence the reason that in the dream my eyes were bandaged so that I would not be fighting with God over what I saw and what He saw. It is about faith in the Lord’s eyes, faith in His judgements as opposed to yours, and faith in His ability to lead and guide and not leaning to your own understanding of things.

Being that I was walking along a very rocky road in the dream, it didn’t matter what anyone else was doing. The only person’s walk I was concerned about was mine. I was in no position to judge another because I could not see myself where I was going and had to be reliant upon the Lord to guide me.

A case in point where this was driven home to both me and my wife is when my daughter, who is a Christian, started dating a man who was also a Christian. When my wife and I found out that he had been married previously we told our daughter in mo uncertain terms to break it off. We did not want someone who had been divorced to be dating our daughter even though he had said that he did everything he could to save the marriage. I can tell you now that in all my years of being a Christian I nor my wife have ever been jumped by the Holy Spirit for judging, by outward appearances, like we were then. I can remember my wife arguing with the Lord saying that this man was second best and she wanted God’s best for her. To which the Lord replied, who are you to know what is best for your daughter. I felt the conviction of the Lord as well. I am happy to say that the relationship is progressing and I am so happy for the Lord’s rebuke. Had we not both listened, I am sure that we would have destroyed things for my daughter and her boyfriend.

With all that said, do I still Judge? I would be lying if I said otherwise. But I hope and pray that I will learn to rely on the Lord’s eyes instead of my own.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Judging

  1. optimisticgladness on said:

    Profound. Every time I read your posts, I am amazed by God’s gift in you. That is so neat. Your dreams have so much symbolism and becauuse I am such a visual person, those visuals you give will stick with me for a long, long time. Thank you Tony.

    • Thank you Lisa. I too, am a visual learner. Perhaps that’s why I get the dreams and visions I do.
      I’m glad the posting blessed you. Your posts are a blessing to me as well.

  2. Spiritual Christians can judge spiritual things. Carnal Christians cannot judge spiritual things.

    “A.W. Tozer Quote”
    http://hitchhikeamerica.wordpress.com/2012/12/26/a-w-tozer-quote/

  3. Pingback: Minority Report | The Road

  4. Tony: The Lord has given you some really great dreams to teach and build up the Body of Christ. In this dream about having your eyes bandaged, it reminded me of the film Minority Report, starring Tom Cruise.

    “Minority Report”
    http://hitchhikeamerica.wordpress.com/2013/12/14/minority-report/

Leave a Reply

